I make Biloxi blues (part 2)

I get back to the hotel about 10 pm. The clubs aren’t on the back seat. I put them into the boot, right? Wrong! I left them next to the cart. I drive the 20 ks back to the course. All the carts have been put away. I literally have to push a cat from the door to the pro’s shop with my foot. It doesn’t flinch. I peek through the window. There they are! I forgot that the bag has Australia written on it. So I know they are mine. I move away, the cat ambles back the foot I pushed it back. The next day I drive back to the course. The cat is sitting next to one of the greenkeepers on a cart being driven about. Greenkeeper “You all came back to get that Aussie handbag?” I’m using a pencil case travel golf bag. Me “Yes, Mate”. Greenkeeper “I thought it must have been a real bad round for you to just give them away”. Me “yes very good”. I’m pretty sure cats can’t snicker, but this one went close.

• Eclectic
• Vivien Leigh

Leave a comment