Mobile in Mobile (part 2)

 I play in Mobile with Jimmy B who has his two boys with him. At the second tee “I really like that Australian music”. “Really who?” Thinking Acca Dacca, Oils, Powderfinger maybe. No. Hillsong. Jimmy is a Pentecostal Christian who often listens to Hillsong (the Christian group in Queensland that Johnnie Howard used dag up to), who apparently are very big here. Jimmy tells me on the third hole that he tries to do everything like Jesus would do it. When he gets to pitch range at each hole I ask what Jesus would hit. He tells me a 7 or 8 or 9, whatever. He has a sense of humour about this stuff. According to Jimmy so did the son of God. I’m really starting to like these committed Christians. They are so happy and know where they’re going. Maybe this is my go*.  If Jimmy is really emulating Jesus with his approach shots – the Lord really knew how to check up. Anyway the first nine holes are rubbish by me – 51.  Jimmy has to take off. I continue on – 45! Easy course, but still – happy with that back nine.

 

*(Note from 10 days into the future Brian whose is typing this up from early August Brian’s notes – this is not his go (or my go) and I remain godless.Image

Jimmy, Noah, Luke and your humble correspondent.

  • Busted flat in Baton Rouge
  • Radio Ga Ga

1 thought on “Mobile in Mobile (part 2)

  1. I notice you shoot a better score when no one is around Bri!
    Wait to these yanks really work you out. They’ll burn you at the stake.

Leave a comment