The accent thing

Just some of the reactions.

On a trip back to an optometrist for a second time to pick up glasses I had left the day before. The receptionist: “Where are you from darling?”, me: “ What’s your guess?” “ I don’t want to sound stupid, but I thought maybe Ireland”. The optometrist hears us and comes out “I thought you sounded like Prince Charles or something”. Wouldn’t Chuck love that!

Bar in South Carolina Pro shop. Her “You are playing here a lot” me “This is my first time here  – in fact it is my first time in South Carolina”. Her, “You aren’t that South African fella” Me, “I don’t think so”.

Hotel Receptionist in Virginia with an upwards questioning inflection “German”. Me “no”.

Service  Station in Augusta, him “United Kingdom?”. Me “No”. Him “England?”. Me “that is part of the UK, think Southern Hemisphere”. Him “Wales?”.

I talk to some chaps on the first tee in Bowling Green Kentucky. I come across them again on the 6th fairway and asked them where the 7th tee is. They tell me. “Where are you from?” “Australia”. One of the chaps to the other chap (laughing uproariously) “you got it right you whore”.

Two lasses in a service station in Tennesse. “I like your accent, where you from?”. Me: “Australia”. Other lass : “I’ve never heard it in real life. I like it. It is like the television”.

Fellow barfly in Wilmington: “Where are you from?” . Me “Australia”. Him “You sure?”  It was late.

 

 

• Mr Fawlty! Mr Fawlty!
• Bdonnel1’s “Believe it or not”

Leave a comment