In the land of the Salukis

meanwhileinkentucky (1)
9.15 a.m. in a hotel in a very small town in Kentucky.
“Just a couple of things about the room”. “Yes”. “The tap on the shower is not attached and won’t go back on. To make the toilet flush you have to take the top of the cistern off and manipulate the float manually. Neither of the bedside lamps work. The TV is only picking up one station. Three of the four power points don’t work.” “Is that everything?” “Oh, it smells vaguely of vomit, but besides that everything was fine.”

Fawlty Towers. Episode: The Waldorf Salad.
Mr Hamilton: “What I’m suggesting is that this place is the… the crummiest, shoddiest, worst-run hotel in the whole of Western Europe”.
Major Gowen: “No! No, I won’t have that!………….. There’s a place in Eastbourne”.

Carbondale Illinois: Hickory Ridge Public Golf Center: Two sort of my age women waiting behind me on the first tee. “I’m happy to join on with you two”. “No, that’s OK”. This is the only time this happened on the whole trip. Maybe they thought I was a masher. Anyway this turns out to be good thing. The course I would say was comparable to Royal and Ancient Heidelberg. Pretty and reasonably challenging (sort of like the wife).

I return to the club rooms. Me to the pro “Have you ever had one of those days where everything goes right”. The Pro “Oh yeah”. Me “Well not me…………..before today”.
Listen, I don’t care if you believe me or not. Well I do, but anyway I had an 85. That’s right 85.

• K-ro not Ki-ro
• The mighty Hotrods
• I’ve been kidding myself

1 thought on “In the land of the Salukis

Leave a comment