Oh we have both kinds – Country and Western

tennessee-map-575
In a bar (that’s a surprise) in Nashville Tennessee.   Lots of cowboy hats, including on a group of Pommies sitting front and centre (one who hears me talking to the chap next to me and decides to have a sledge about the Ashes. What next? A Carlton supporter carrying on about the 99 prelim?) Country and Western duet singing some of the most appalling shit I have ever encountered.  Behind the bar, two chappies doing a piss poor imitation of Bryan Brown and Tom Cruise in Cocktail (and they were pretty piss poor to start with).  One of the duet yells “Who here likes Garth Brooks?” The crowd go wild. This is what my own personal hell would look like.

Knoxville, East Tennessee. Fantastic museum. Lots of Civil War stuff. Also a lot stuff about hillbillies. It is matter of some conjecture where the Beverley Hillbillies were from. Hints in the show range from Oklahoma to Arkansas to Missouri to Tennessee. Oil means Appalachians which means maybe Tennessee and to my untrained ear they sound as if they come from around these here parts. I thought as I got further north the accent would start to tend towards a more northern accent. The opposite is true. I have found at times people to be incomprehensible. Unlike further south where I could understand them, but they couldn’t understand me. 

Image

How much does this look like a W class tram? Maybe I have just been away too long.

Image

Some Confederate “Dude” ( A major I think) wore this into battle during the Civil war.

After the museum I repair to the Bistro at the Bijou. Just for the companionship mind you. I fall into a conversation with the barkeep who wants to eventually work for Hillary C. Maybe as her CJ. She is a Politics major. We talk for ages and eventually she tells me she is somewhat notorious. A local politician, the Mayor?, a Congressman?, had said all homosexuals were a result of monkeys mating with men. Soon after, this chappie called into the Bistro and Rachel (the barkeep) told him that they wouldn’t serve him. This became a big deal and was reported in a lot of the media. Subsequently they have had people from far and wide come into the bar to congratulate them. They now have a picture of this fellow on the bar with a rainbow coloured feather boa wrapped around it.

  • They have bogans too!
  • Virginny and Mr Poe

 

 

Leave a comment