Scenes from the road part 10

DSCN0079

How you can tell you are in the Wild West

DSCN0097

This was obviously the work of two different people. I imagine a public servant wrote the polite green and white sign then a boss hog type saw it and went nuts. “What chucklehead wrote this. These tenderfoots need to know who is in charge here. Someone who doesn’t like apostrophes”.

DSCN0146

This was at dusk and it is hard to make it out but these were scores of  bison all around my car.

DSCN0094

These photos obviously don’t do these critters justice, but take my word they are magnificent. When Europeans started their migration to the great plains in the 1830s it was estimated that there were 30 million bison. By 1889 it was down to 1091 head. It is now estimated that there is 500,000. You gotta love these buggers.

DSCN0155

She seemed lovely to me. I gave her money she gave me beer.

DSCN0154

This was on the front door of the town hall of a little town in Colorado. Apparently they got sick of all the hooping and a hollering and gunplay while the Mayor was trying to address the council.

DSCN0141

Mt Rushmore. Again I apologise for the standard of the photography. You can’t tell from this, but below the tree line they have tiny little bodies. They are in reality giant bobble heads.

Leave a comment