All good things…………

north-carolina-map

Key Vista Pink Hill North Carolina Just rubbish – 2 nines, 2 sevens and a 97.

Fantastic micro brewery in Wilmington NC. Tours on the half hour. Meanwhile you sit at the bar. Really good beer including one that is made using Jim Beam barrels as a filtration method. “Do we take our beer with us on the tour?” “Sure it’s a brewery”.

Image 

Image

 

 

southcarolina<a

Onwards to Myrtle Beach that everyone on the way told me I had to go to. I pull into the Heather Glen Golf Links. Can this be a Public course? It is just sensational. Given a 4 and 1/2 star rating by Golf Digest, Best new Public Course 1987, Ranked in the Top 5 Public courses in America. You drive down to the bag station, a chap unloads your bag, you drive back to the car park and walk back down by which time he has loaded up your cart. You then drive down to the Tee master who hands you a Booklet that explains the layout (inspired by Glen Eagles and St Andrews) and he gives you some insights on how to play the course. On the seventeenth I blade a seven iron on the par three that bumps and runs onto the green. I then drain a 15 metre putt. Best course I have played outside of Metropolitan and I have an 86. Last course to be played on this stint and far and away the best I have played. All for $40 odd dollars.  

Image

Mike and Wendy from Indiana. Mike is a seriously good golfer. Wendy is not serious about her golf.

I have a day to kill before I go and I have always wanted to see Fort Sumter. So a boat cruise:

Image

A 42 pounder Smoothbore Cannon at Fort Sumter. 

Image

A view of Fort Sumter from the boat. A bit of Wiki: – Following  secession by the South the first shots of the war were at Fort Sumter. On Friday, April 12, 1861, at 4:30 a.m., Confederate batteries opened fire, firing for 34 straight hours, on the fort. 

Confederate troops then occupied Fort Sumter for nearly four years, resisting several bombardments by Union forces before abandoning the garrison prior to William T. Sherman’s capture of Charleston in February 1865.

Anyway – 

“Drizzle, drazzle, druzzle, drome, time for this one to come home.” 

So Atlanta, LA, Tullamarine,

Public Address system while waiting at the carousel: “Could Brian Donelly report to the Baggage department”. “I’m Mr Donelly” “Umm I am afraid some of your luggage is missing”. 

Some reactions to the blog:

Daughter: A great read

Son: I didn’t read it. As you know dad I’m a bit of an arsehole.

Mikey: A crock of shit

Wife: It was good, I read bits and pieces.

Ian: Blogs are for self indulgent wankers!

 

Scene: Lower Plenty –  Me “Well, I figured it out, that was 6821 kilometres, 1472 golf shots and 16 states in 31 days”. Wife ““That’s nice dear”.

 

To be continued in 2014

3 thoughts on “All good things…………

  1. ____Well I read it all and loved it!

    Going to print it out for dad to read as well. Being a bit of a golfer himself.

    Thanks!

    ____________________________________

  2. If you liked the microbrewery tour in Wilmington NC you should visit some of the microbreweries in San Diego, Ca if you travel through the area on one of your upcoming trips back to the US

    Stone brewing, green flash, ballast point, and Hess brewing are all great.

Leave a comment