It would have been easier just to buy a car.

I book the car for six weeks with Dollar Rentals again through a third party (based in the UK). When I pick it up in New Jersey they tell me I have to come back to Newark or New York after a month to renew. I explain that I have booked and paid for the full six weeks. They don’t care and I will have to take it up with the third party broker, aforementioned pommies. So I ring them up that night and tell them that having to come back to NYC or Newark will throw my travel plans out and I’m not sure where I will be in 4 weeks’ time, I might be in Minnesota, I could be anywhere. Nigel (the chappie from the broker in Manchester tells me that if I had bothered to read the fine print that I would know that the terms of the agreement can be varied at any time by the car rental firm. I politely put it to Nigel that this is bullshit. “Listen Nigel when you buy an Apple product or get a credit card do you read all the fine print?” Him “Yes Mr Donnelly I do”. Me “Oh bullshit!” Nigel “ Mr Donnelly I don’t appreciate the language”. Me “Nigel are you a grown man?” Nigel “yes”. Me “Well I’m pretty sure you have heard the term bullshit before, so can we cut the shit”. After much more similar light hearted good natured banter, Nigel promises me that he will follow up with Dollar. “Now Nigel, I know what will happen here. I will ring back and get someone else and there won’t be an answer” Nigel assures me “I’m not like that sir and I promise I will follow through”. I ring the next night. “I’m sorry sir, Nigel is off ill”. I repeat my request and ring back the next night. “Sir, good news you can renew in Minnesota”. Me “No! No! No! I was just giving Minnesota as an example. I might be anywhere”. Them “Well, now you are all set”. So I change my itinerary to be in Minnesota in four weeks’ time and the day arrives and then the next day. I had forgotten. So I wake up in Wisconsin with a possibly stolen car. More than a little panicked, I ring Dollar to throw myself on their mercy. “Oh Mr Donnelly we can renew that over the phone there is no need for you to physically come in”. Nigel you fuck’n bastard.

Leave a comment